Sana offers an extensive educational curriculum that builds local capacity for global health informatics, with the fundamental goal of nurturing homegrown innovation. In order to impact a massive audience, the platform supports rapid expansion leveraging Internet-based tools and a “train the trainers” model, building on partnerships with dozens of international collaborators on the ground.
  • MIT Course HST.936 (2011-present)
  • Open Textbook (MIT Press, Fall 2016)
  • Massive Open Online Course (edX/MITxFall 2016)
Academic Partners
  • MIT
  • HSPH
  • HMS
  • Boston University School of Public Health
  • Brandeis
  • Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (ITESM)
  • Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST)
  • Taipei Medical University (TMU)
  • University of Cauca
  • University of Waterloo
  • Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT)

mHealth Hackathons, Bootcamps, and Workshops

Sana promotes an intensive integrative program designed to build local capacity and promote locally sustained innovation. Our complete program is deliberately structured to advance projects from idea to implementation


The Sana mHealth Engineering Bootcamp is an intensive 2-4 day program to accelerate proficiency in global health informatics, to leverage international engineering resources and build mHealth capacity. The program is designed to introduce computer science and electrical engineers to mobile health technologies, while also exposing them to the clinical perspectives so they can more effectively design and implement mobile health solutions.


Immediately following the intensive Bootcamp, the engineering students are brought together with local clinicians and other disciplines to share ideas and innovate in an organized Hackathon, bringing theory into practice. The 2-3 day event allows engineers to immediately apply the concepts and lessons on actual projects, working in multidisciplinary teams to develop rapid prototypes and solve real problems.

  • Hacking Hackathons - Boston, MA (August 2016)
  • Philippines
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Colombia
  • Mexico (January 2016)
  • Puerto Rico (November 2015)
  • Greece (October 2015)
  • Uganda (July 2015)
  • Colombia (June 2015)
  • India (August 2014)
  • India (December 2013)